Sandwich spreads that don’t suck

Mayonnaise is a high calorie food. In fact, I’m not sure I would even consider it food. It’s oil (usually soy or canola), eggs, salt and sugar, unless you get Miracle Whip, and then there’s probably some processed version of corn in there. Nowadays, mayo seems just plain boring when it comes to healthy, delicious sandwiches, because there are so many other options for spreads that are lower in calories and have more nutritional value.

Here are some more flavorful, nutritious options (all vegan!):

Sun-dried Tomato Hummus

Roasted Red Pepper and Walnut Spread

Tomatillo Guacamole

Pesto

What spreads do you use instead of mayo?

5 responses

  1. Well, I’ve tried 2 of them– the sun-dried tomato hummus (just today actually, and it is soooo good!), and the tomatillo guacamole, which is probably my favorite guacamole recipes (I love guacamole).

    You really can’t go wrong with a simple pesto (even if you choose the vegetarian option and use parmesan cheese instead of nutritional yeast, or get a good quality pre-made one from the grocery store. I have tried Cucina Fresca’s pesto, which is locally made and super yummy.

    I’m saving the roasted red pepper walnut spread for another day… but it sounds really good for sandwiches and as a cracker dip!

  2. Nayonaise is good. I like the Grapeseed Oil Nayonaise they sell at Whole Foods, I looked for it on Amazon, but couldn’t find it otherwise I’d put a link to it. Some of the nayonaise is pretty nasty, but it’s possible to find one that taste just like mayonaise. mmmmmm 🙂 🙂

    • Ah, sounded like Veganaise, except for when I looked up the ingredients…

      Veganaise is supposedly non-GMO (at least, sourced from organic non-GMO sources), and most of their products are at least enrolled in a non-gmo project verification process (http://www.nongmoproject.org/retailers/search-participating-products/search/?brandId=320).

      Nayonaise contains soybeans and soybean oil, and if they aren’t organic (which they don’t appear to be), it’s likely GM soy.

      But, of course, many people don’t believe the genetic modification of our food is a bad thing, so your food choices are up to you of course. I just supply the information. 🙂

      As for taste, I actually don’t particularly like the taste of mayo myself (which is weird, because I used to LOVE it). Hummus on a sandwich though… soooo good. 🙂

      • But, now that I look at it more, maybe because it’s grapeseed oil it doesn’t have soy in it? It’s not listed as one of their products on their website so I can’t look (maybe it’s new).

Leave a Reply

