Recipe of the Week – Quinoa and Black Beans with Oven-Roasted Radishes

Quinoa, once held by the Incas as the sacred “mother of all grains”, is now becoming more widely used in our meals. It is truly a complete protein with all of the essential amino acids we need, and is a great source of dietary fiber, magnesium, iron, and phosphorus. If you’re sensitive to gluten, this is the grain for you, because it’s also gluten-free.

I haven’t used quinoa much, but as I move toward a more plant-based diet, it’s becoming a necessary item in my pantry. I found a recipe for Quinoa and Black Beans that is just awesome. This dish has everything you would want in a balanced meal (whole grains, beans, and legumes), except for more veggies, which is why I decided to use some fresh organic radishes to try this recipe for oven-roasted radishes. I have never even heard of roasting radishes, but these my friends, are so delicious and much tastier and smoother then I had anticipated. My boyfriend said they were just like roasted potatoes with a more celery type of flavor.  But, if you’re not into experimenting with radishes, the quinoa recipe would taste great with more veggies or legumes added. Try it with peas, zucchini, eggplant, carrots, or mushrooms!

What are your favorite quinoa recipes? I’m looking for more!

2 responses

Leave a Reply

